ODLG: OGSIEC Holds Stakeholders Meeting Ahead Councillorship Bye-Election, Ilado Ward 10

Community, HOME

By Lanre Aregbesola 

The Executive Chairman of Odogbolu Local Government Area of Ogun State, Hon. Ladejobi Shuaib, on Thursday 28th September, 2023 host the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC) and other Stakeholders in the local Government Secretariat in preparation for the forthcoming bye- election in the council area.

The upcoming bye election was as a result of the demise of the Councillor representing ward 10 (Ilado), late Hon. Olusola Taiwo Olufemi, who passed on, in November 2022.

The Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC) was led by the chairman of the commission, Mr. Babatunde Osibodu, who was ably represented by one of the commissioner, Mrs. Gbemi Onasanya and other commissioners of the commission.

In his opening speech, the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC) Chairman, Mr. Babatunde Osibodu, welcomed everyone to the stakeholders meeting, which Mark the commencement of the bye-election.

He also commiserated with the family of the late councillor, Hon. Olusola Taiwo Olufemi, the Council Chairman and the entire people of ward 10 Ilado, on the unfortunate incident.

He appreciated the executive Chairman of Odogbolu Local Government Hon. Ladejobi Shuaib for his cooperation and support for making the gathering a reality.

He explained that OGSIEC is saddled with the responsibility of conducting free, fair and credible local government elections and the meeting today is part of filling the vacant position. “This is in accordance with section 41 of the Ogun State Electoral Law and here today the electoral guidelines and timetable for the bye election which will hold on Thursday 26th October 2023 will be unveiled”,  he said.

He then assured all political parties and the general public of a level playing ground, adding that the commission will adhere strictly to due process, whilst soliciting for everyone support.

Earlier in his welcome address, the Council Chairman, Hon. Ladejobi Shuaib, thanked the Commission for it’s preparation for the Bye- election and also welcome all other stakeholders including members of other political parties that were present, from ward 1 to ward 15, traditional rulers, market and religious leaders among others.

He assured everyone of maximum security during and after the said Bye- election.

During the interactive session, the OGSIEC Commissioner, Mr. Tunji Akooni, answered many questions from members of different political parties such as Comrade Oyewole of the Labour party (LP), Comrade Odunsi Adebola (SDP), Mr. Adetunji Abayomi (APC) among many others.

The Divisional Police Officer, (DPO) Odogbolu, CSP. Faluse Haruna also assured everyone of maximum security before, during and after the Bye- Election.

Also Assistant Commander Dawodu Gabriel, who represented the Ogun State Commander of the Nigeria Civil and Security Defense Corps, (NCSDC), gave assurance of security during the election.

In attendance at the meeting were: Chief James Dina, APC Deputy State Chairman; Barr. Yomi Siwoniku, APC legal Adviser; Chief Muyiwa Idowu, APC Party Chairman; Comrade Olaniyi Shobajo, deputy National youth leader Of LP; Mr Odunsi Adebola of SDP; Iyaloja General Odogbolu Local Government, High Chief Mrs. Muyibat Adebanjo; Commissioners from OGSIEC, Mr .Tunji Akooni, Mr. Tajudeen Omolaja, Mrs Gbemi Onasanya, Mrs. Remilekun Olaopa; and Director’s of the Commission; the Vice Chairman Odogbolu Local Government, Hon. Mrs. Iretiolu Adenugba; the Leader of the legislative Council, Hon Sikirulai Bello; the Secretary to the Local Government, Hon. Olamide Fasola and other executive members of the local Government.


Leave a Reply